故事

優素福的成功之橋

張貼

“我需要改變我的生活。 同樣的想法在大多數人的腦海中閃過。

對於優素福來說,這是他無法想像的生活變化,這要歸功於他的決心,再加上貝克里普利可用的項目和資源,以及我們的捐助者、合作夥伴和員工帶來的經濟舉措。

“我是一家青少年心理健康機構的行為支持專家,”當地休斯頓人優素福回憶道。他的語氣表達了他每天必須面對的挑戰。“這是艱苦的工作。我不會撒謊。過了一會兒,它開始把我拉下來。

但優素福對艱難時期並不陌生。他在休斯頓出生和長大。只有優素福,他的兄弟和他們的單身母親。您可以想像在這種情況下,一個不斷壯大的家庭所面臨的挑戰。

正是在優素福職業生涯的這個階段,他知道自己需要改變。“我正處於人生的低谷,”他說,然後他發現了一個新機會。

優素福的新道路

“我的一個朋友參加了BakerRipley技術專案,他正在談論它對他和他的生活有什麼影響。

BakerRipley成人教育和職業發展服務為成千上萬的休斯頓鄰居提供服務。 這些計劃每天都在改變生活,因為優素福即將親身學習。

優素福參加了 貝克里普利技術股權/橋樑計劃。這是一組獨特的課程和服務,允許本地鄰居獲得行業認可的數位技能認證。當與動手 STEM(科學、技術、工程和數學)課程以及職前輔導相結合時,學生可以獲得在現代領域獲得競爭性工作的途徑。

但隨著他的科技股權課程的開始,他意識到這並不容易。“當我剛開始上課時,這是非常具有挑戰性的。中途,我們參加了一次考試,我得了非常非常低的分數。這給人敲響了警鐘。優素福知道他需要屈服。他消除了生活中的干擾,專注於學習。

對他的成功同樣至關重要的是,優素福意識到,當他面臨該計劃的挑戰時,他並不孤單。

優素福的新貝克里普利家族

健康、樂於助人的家庭是做什麼的? 他們互相支持、鼓勵和關心。

 

“工作人員和教練都很棒。
就像第二個家庭。

 

這就是為什麼貝克里普利家族如此重要的原因。 我們可以共同努力,為休斯頓鄰居提供必要的支援、服務和機會,以克服他們與夢想之間的挑戰。

在BakerRipley教師,工作人員,志願者和捐助者的説明下,優素福能夠專注於該計劃。當他遇到困難的概念或專案時,他得到了他需要的輔導。即使他經歷了經常使我們偏離計劃的小障礙,他也得到了真正改變的説明。

“有一次,我的wifi在家裡很糟糕,戴安娜(BakeRipley教練)邀請我去BakerRipley設施。她能夠給我一個移動wifi,我可以在課堂上使用。在那之後,一切都很完美。

有時,這些看似很小的解決方案會對鄰居的成功產生巨大的影響。

在專注於該計劃並獲得所需的支援后,優素福能夠在班上名列前茅。然後,他通過BakerRipley Tech計劃完成了認證。他獲得了 CompTIAA+ 認證,這是 IT 運營和技術支援角色的首選證書。

優素福的新工作

今天,優素福在當地被僱用為加工技術。他喜歡自己的工作,並對自己的職業道路感到興奮。

“因此,對於任何感到有點迷茫或需要改變生活的人,或者只是想要新的挑戰,請來參加BakerRipley的技術股權計劃。它改變了生活。它真的把我從最低點帶到了我最高的點之一。

像這樣的故事簡直就是改變生活。BakerRipley 的教育和職業培訓包括青年和家庭 STEM 活動、課後計劃、夏令營、成人培訓、認證、網路、小型企業培訓等等。

我們很高興能成為優素福故事的一部分,因為它有力地反映了貝克里普利説明每個鄰居追求他們的目標和抱負的目標。我們很自豪能與每一位幫助實現這一目標的BakerRipley捐贈者、志願者和朋友站在一起。

stories

Yusuf’s Bridge to Success

Posted

“I needed a change in my life.” This same thought has crossed most everyone’s mind.

For Yusuf, it was a life change he couldn’t have imagined, and it was only possible because of his determination, coupled with the programs and resources available at BakerRipley, as well as economic initiatives made possible by our donors, partners, and employees.

“I was a behavior support specialist at a mental health facility for teenagers,” recalls Yusuf, a local Houstonian. His tone expresses the challenges he must have faced every day. “It was hard work. I’m not gonna lie. After a while, it just started pulling me down.”

But Yusuf wasn’t a stranger to tough times. He was born and raised in Houston. It was just Yusuf, his brothers, and their single mother. You can imagine the challenges faced by a growing family in these circumstances.

It was at this point in Yusuf’s career that he knew he needed a change. “I was at a down point in my life,” he said, and then he discovered a new opportunity.

Yusuf's new path

“One of my friends was in a BakerRipley tech program, and he was talking about what it did for him and his life.”

BakerRipley adult education and career advancement services serve thousands of Houston neighbors. These programs change lives every day, as Yusuf was about to learn first-hand.

Yusuf enrolled in the BakerRipley Tech Equity/Bridge Program. This is a unique set of classes and services that allow local Neighbors to gain access to industry-recognized certification for digital skills. When combined with hands-on STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) programs, as well as the pre-employment coaching, students gain pathways to competitive jobs in modern fields.

But as his Tech Equity classes began, he realized it wouldn’t all be easy. “When I first started the course, it was very challenging. Midway through, we took a test, and I scored very, very low. It was a wake-up call.” Yusuf knew he needed to buckle down. He removed distractions in his life and focused on his studies.

And just as crucial to his success, Yusuf realized he wasn’t alone as he faced the challenges of the program.

YUSUF’S NEW BAKERRIPLEY FAMILY

What do healthy, helpful families do?  They support, encourage, and care for each other.

 

“The staff and instructors were amazing.
It was like a second family.”

 

This is why the BakerRipley family is so important. Together, we can all work to provide the support, services, and opportunities necessary for Houston Neighbors to overcome the challenges that stand between them and their dreams.

With the help of BakerRipley teachers, staff, volunteers, and donors, Yusuf was able to focus on the program. When he encountered difficult concepts or projects, he received the tutoring he needed. And even when he experienced the types of small hurdles that so often knock us off our plans, he received help that made a real difference.

“One time, my wifi was terrible at home, and Diana (a BakeRipley instructor) invited me over to the BakerRipley facility. She was able to get me a mobile wifi that I could use for the class. After that, everything worked perfectly.”

Sometimes, these seemingly small solutions make a huge difference in a Neighbor’s success.

After focusing on the program and receiving the support he needed, Yusuf was able to score among the highest in the class. Then he completed his certification through the BakerRipley Tech program. He earned his CompTIAA+ certification, which is the preferred credential for IT operational and technical support roles.

YUSUF’S NEW JOB

Today, Yusuf is employed locally as a Processing Tech. He enjoys his job, and is excited about his career path.

“So for anyone that’s feeling a little lost or needs a change in their life, or just wants a new challenge, come to the Tech Equity program at BakerRipley. It’s life-changing. It literally took me from a point where I was at my lowest to one of my highest.”

Stories like these are nothing short of life-changing. BakerRipley’s education and career training includes youth and family STEM events, after-school programs, summer camps, adult training, certifications, networking, small business training, and so much more.

We’re glad to be a part of Yusuf’s story because it’s a powerful reflection of BakerRipley’s goal of helping every Neighbor pursue their goals and aspirations. And we’re proud to stand with every BakerRipley donor, volunteer, and friend who help make this possible.